Arima Central

By BridgetAnn Reyes

ACSS is considered as one of the best performing government schools in the East west Corridor, and has produced many nation builders.

For instance:

Chief of Defence Force Brigadier Roland Maundy (deceased);

Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams;

Assistant Commissioner of Police Tobago Hugh Lovell (Retired);

Chief Fire Officer Kenny Gopaul;

Deputy Commissioner of Prisons Dane Clarke;

Lawrence Thomas (Customs, Tobago);

Former Mayor and MP of Arima & General Secretary of PNM Ashton Ford;

Former Councillor Clinton Jennings;

Former West Indies and T&T cricketer Harold Joseph;

Athlete Melissa de Leon;

2010 Pan Am Games Cycling gold medalist Quincy Alexander;

1976 Montreal Olympics athletes Ainsley Armstrong, Anthony Husbands and Charlie Joseph (also represented at 1980 Moscow Olympics;

Pan American, CAC and Carifta Games athletes Andrew Bruce and Michael Paul;

Journalists Irene Medina and Michelle Loubon;

Latin dance instructor Sheldon Harding;

Pastor Prakash Bachew (deceased);

WASA’s Corporate Communications Officer Ellen Lewis;

Izola Garcia (UNAIDS);

Former Chairman/CEO Environmental Management Authority Joth Singh;

Calypsonians Devon Seales, Carlos James (Skatie), Dexter Parson (Stinger) and Jeffrey Peter Levels Biddeau;

2017 National Junior Calypso Monarch Shervonne Rodney;

Doctors Roland Roopchand, Bassam Hadeed, Jacqueline Caton-Richards, Judy Seesahai, Dawn Williams and Karen Sein Ohn;

And 2013, 2014 National African History Quiz winners Callind La Croix, Nathaniel Cristo, Nekoda Edwards.

I am sure others can attest to many more that I may have omitted.

Notably, we have had the distinction of having the Right Honourable Dr. Keith Christopher Rowley, Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago, and Her Worship the Mayor of Arima, Lisa Morris-Julian, renowned nation builders, shaping the minds of some of the students, who have walked the corridors of ACSS.